2022 Robert Traver Award Call For Submissions

January 16, 2022 By: Spencer Durrant

traver award bannerThe John D. Voelker Foundation and the American Museum of Fly Fishing (AMFF) are pleased  to announce that submissions are now being accepted for the 2022 Robert Traver Fly-Fishing Writing Award (the Traver Award). The award is named after Robert Traver, pen name for the  late John Voelker, author of Trout Madness, Trout Magic, Anatomy of a Fisherman, the 1958 best seller Anatomy of a Murder, and the historical novel Laughing Whitefish.

The Traver Award, which includes a $2,500 prize, was created in 1994 to encourage and  recognize “distinguished original stories or essays that embody the implicit love of fly fishing,  respect for the sport, and the natural world in which it takes place.” The Traver stories and  essays must demonstrate high literary values in one or more of these three categories:

• The joy of fly fishing: personal and philosophic experience
• Ecology: knowledge and protection of the natural world
• Humor: piscatorial friendships and fun on the water

You can learn more about the award here.