Orvis Announces Free Fly Fishing Classes

Know someone who wants to learn fly fishing? Give Orvis a call...

From May through July, Orvis will offer free fly fishing lessons nationwide through Orvis retail stores and participating dealers (www.orvis.com/ff101). This season Orvis hopes to introduce even more outdoor lovers to the sport with Fly Fishing 101 and 201 beginning in May 2012. Classes are complimentary to the public and a great way for families and friends to enjoy the outdoors together.

Continue reading for the full press release.

“The past two years’ success of Fly Fishing 101 is truly amazing and encouraging,” explains Tom Rosenbauer, Marketing Director of The Orvis Company. “Based on the success of the program, we’ve been delighted to welcome many thousands of novice and advancing students to the joys of fly fishing through Fly Fishing 101 and 201. Our goal is to encourage people of all ages and backgrounds to come learn more about the fascination of fly fishing. The classes are unique opportunities to enjoy a new sport and the success of the program speaks volumes to what folks are seeking in terms of healthy outdoor recreational activities for themselves and their families.”

Trout Unlimited and the Federation of Fly Fishers (FFF) will be lending their support again this year with volunteers at the event and free memberships to their organization for attendees of the class. 

Fly Fishing 101/201 Highlights — The 101 course will consist of two parts—one hour of casting instruction and one hour of rigging. Most participants are true beginners so keeping the focus on learning these basic skills is the best place to start. FF201 classes are conducted on the water, with a lower instructor/student ratio. The main thrust of the 201 course is getting those interested in taking the next step in fly fishing on the water at a local location where they have a great chance at catching their first fish. Private water, local bass/bluegill ponds, or a recently stocked river or creek are typical class sites.

Once instruction is completed, each group attendee will receive a $25 coupon off any purchase of $50 or more and other coupons good toward Orvis gear. Additionally, each group attendee will receive a certificate for a FREE Trout Unlimited membership and a FREE membership to the Federation of Fly Fishers—a $70 value. The total free package value including the instruction is valued at over $150. 

To get started in fly fishing and to make it more accessible to start in the sport, participants will also receive discounted offers on a fishing lanyard with tools and a beginner’s rod outfit—all the basics needed to hit the water after the class.

Event Dates (exact times determined by store):

Fly Fishing 101

Saturday, May 5
Sunday, May 6
Saturday May 12
Sunday, May 13
Saturday, May 26
Sunday, May 27
Saturday, June 2
Sunday, June 3
Saturday, June 16
Sunday, June 17
Saturday, June 23
Sunday, June 24

Fly Fishing 201

Saturday, May 19
Sunday, May 20
Saturday, June 9
Sunday June 10
Sunday, July 1

This entry was posted in Gear with sub-topics . Bookmark the permalink.